The Holidays

Standard

This holiday season has been quite interesting. At Thanksgiving my father went into surgery, so he was unable to spend the week with the family. If you know my dad, Thanksgiving is his favorite holiday. We even had a 30th Anniversary Party for my sister & her husband. Since then my dad has undergone 2 more surgeries, one being a preventive measure to heart attacks or strokes. I’m going to Louisiana later this week to pick up my mom & take her into New Orleans to be with my dad as he recovers at my sister’s house after he gets out of the hospital.

As each year passes at this time I find myself wondering if I’m going to be that strange aunt who winds up single her whole life. I met a man online & have been on 2 dates with him so far. I’m still unsure about how this is going to play out. Of course I’d like to think it’ll be all fine and dandy, but I’m not so optimistic at this point. We’re going on our 3rd date tomorrow, so we’ll see if 3rd time’s a charm or not.

I went to a friend’s Christmas party last night & it was pretty much couples, who were all very nice. My friend & her husband are great people & she makes the choice only to surround herself with good people, why she chose to keep me around I’ll never know. I know I’m glad she did, we had some hiccups that first year we became friends, but she forgave my missteps and now she’s a wonderful inspiration to me in the kind of person I aspire to be.

Anywho seeing all those happy couples, married, dating & what not only gave me pause to reflect on how nice it would’ve been to have a date. I enjoy my girlfriends, but to have that companion, best friend, all things we’re taught in movies & on TV that a person of the opposite sex can offer, is as they say priceless. So thanks to my fantasies no one up to this point has lived up to what most of us impressionable girls expect in relationships.

Okay so I know this is now become a downer of a post. I’m sure there’s many out there who feel the same way I do & probably say it way better than I do. However this is my little slice of self deprecation this holiday season. Hopefully the next post will be more upbeat.

Leave a Reply

