A Night With Pop Legends

Standard

I had heard about Vive Les Arts Legends show for the past 4 years. I was finally able to go & see for my self. The Legends  show is VLA’s annual fundraiser party/show.

The show started with a live auction, auctioneer & all. They auctioned off all sorts of goodies, but the one thing that caught my attention was the peek-a-poo. A little fluffball off of a puppy. She twirled & plopped down butt facing the audience. With a collective “awwwwww” the peek-a-poo went for $725. Oh if I didn’t have 2 already, lol.

The highlights of the show for me were those songs that hit home, the ones I’ve internalized on my own personal life time line. The show starter was a U2 Medley by Mr. Paul Q-Pek, the guy I said in my review of The Civil War that sounds like Roger from RENT. Very rousing, got the crowd ready for the rest of the show.

A little fun was had when the emcee Johnny Russell introduced the director Eric Shepard & a Robert Palmer Medley. An Amy Winehouse impersonator, Mr. Shepard’s wife Erin, cam out instead, bottle & all. Poor Ms. Winehouse had to be carried off by the stagehands, sigh…..ah celebrities.

Priscilla Pierce gave a sweet rendition of Landslide, the Stevie Nicks homage to her father, redone most famously by my fave country rebels the Dixie Chicks. But the stand out for me was Ryan Perez’s version of Walking In Memphis, originally done by Best New Artist Grammy winner ’91 Marc Cohn. The song gives me chills every time I hear it & Mr. Perez was no slouch in the goose bump delivery department.

Marcus Brown put a smile on everyone’s face when he came out with a Johnny Mathis wig & sang Chances Are, the title & theme song of a popular cult classic Robert Downey Jr. flick. Young Mr. Brown then came out with Cameron Dinkens & Jonnathan Molina for a little Motown Medley. Dinkens did great as a young Stevie Wonder on Uptight. Brown delivered again on Al Green’s Let’s Stay Together. Molina had a voice as sweet as MJ’s on I’ll Be There.

I do believe that the whole place stopped breathing when Olga Pena sang as good as or even better than Alicia Keys on If I Ain’t Got You. Mrs. Donna Connell gave the Green Goddess winning performance of Bonnie Raitt’s I Can’t Make You Love Me.

After intermission Erin Shephard, accompanied by members of the Killeen High School Band, came out as Gwen Stefani singing Holla Back. Mrs. Shepard was awesome!! Just sayin’. Then when Cathie Sheridan came out for a rousing Mambo Italiano, formerly of Rosemary Clooney fame, all I can say is I want to look as good as she did in a red dress like that. Jealous much!

I was brought back to my boy band lovin’ days when a Mr. John Lohse was introduced. All the women behind me screamed like all those women did when I went to go see Rick Springfield bout 7 years ago, haha. Not gonna lie, he had the chops not to mention the looks, no wonder those ladies were screaming, can’t blame ’em at all. Hope to see him in more shows, they’ll definitely get the attendance of the female demographic up.

I enjoyed the 50 year medley by Hayley Duggar & Erin Shephard. Songs were good, but I was expecting more interplay between the two ladies during the performance. Hey that’s just me. They did ham it up for each turn though. Okay, I cannot tell a lie. The feedback was an issue for the All Cast numbers. It was painful & interrupted what I’m sure were great performances, but I was cringing the whole time waiting for it to stop. I’m sure VLA will get that fixed for next time.

Overall, it was a great feel good show. Warm fuzzies are my specialty & Legends delivered. Can’t wait to see the theme for next year’s show!

Don’t forget Of Mice And Men shows at the end of March, should be another great performance.

Leave a Reply

