Beli’s NOLA Bachelorette Weekend

Standard

I survived! I know it sounds crazy that I’m ecstatic that I survived a weekend with my niece & her girlfriends, but I gotta tell ya, they wore me out. I’ve only just now recovered to the point where I can recount our story.

Jordan & I drove into to Marksville to pick up Mom on Thursday evening. We left Friday morning, of course in the grand tradition of the good ‘ole Wambsgans Dist. Co., we were packing home grown figs, wedding presents, old clothes for a cousin to borrow & can’t leave Marksville without cracklins! The figs & clothes were some of Mom’s cousins since their fig tree just hasn’t been the same since Katrina & the clothes for a trip up north. The wedding presents, well duh, we were going to a wedding shower & the cracklins for my brothers John & David who’d put in their orders days before. However, my nephew saw Jordan & I’s updates on facebook & tried to get his order in unsuccessfully as we had already left Marksville. I told him to mooch off his dad’s bag.

Friday night we get in town & head over to Brenda & Emily’s office to “help/watch” them finish up with the decorations for the shower the next day. After gossiping & what not we head back to Brenda’s & get ready for dinner & such. Brenda & I get Greg to drive us down to the Quarter to meet everyone at Ralph & Kacoo’s. By this time, my schedule was all kinds of off & I had a headache & I was trying my best not to ruin it for the girls. Belicia asked me to sit with her & her girlfriends, which I gotta tell ya, made me feel super, she included me with “the girls,” even in my old age, lol.

Silly me I thought all the bachelorette fun would take place on Saturday, but apparently I was wrong. Those girls had every intention of going out that night, which after the weekend was over, I was so glad I decided to go that night. We all headed out after getting gussied up. To start the night off right, the girls walked across from our hotel to the fire station that housed many of the stars of the NOFD Calendar. They were more than happy to take pictures with all the pretty ladies in our group. Mr. June even got in our full group shot.

After that we headed on down to Pat O’Brien’s. Unfortunately they are like the ID Gestapo, we couldn’t charm, flirt our way to get Jordan in. They were not having it at all, they even had bouncers checking IDs inside, crazy. I didn’t get my hurricane that night, but it was for a good cause. We then made our way to Cat’s Meow where our resident chanteuses signed up for karaoke: Emily & Blair. Ninja signed up too, but by the time we had to wait for Em & Blair to sing, omg, it was practically over 2 hours. After many guys bought the girls drinks throughout our stint at Cat’s we made our way over to Tropical Isle for some hand grenades, which most of us didn’t ge to finish because even after our leisurely walk down Bourbon St with the girls trying to get beads, etc. the bouncers at The Beach made us chug/dump our drinks before we could go in.

Seeing as it was getting pretty late, for me anyways, and it had been  ages since I’d gone out like that drinking & dancing, I was ready to call it a night. Emily called her boyfriend Chris to come walk her back to the hotel. While we waited for Chris to arrive we watched some of the girls tame the wild animal at the front of the bar, the girls affectionately referred to him as “Willy.” Yep, it was a whale 🙂

Got back to the hotel safe & sound. Almost passed out without changing, ick! Nasty Bourbon St”ness” on my clothes, not to mention the sweat accumulated on my clothes from the NOLA humidity, nice right, I know ya’ll are all jealous. Woke up in time to shower & walk to CC’s for a coffee & a yummy coffee cake(can’t remember the name of it though, hmmm). Brenda & the fam picked me up in front of the hotel so I could help them decorate the room at the Chartres Cafe where the shower was being held.

Okay the room was nice & snug before we got there, but once we got there & Brenda, Emily & Margarita worked their magic on that room, it was transformed into Mardi Gras Heaven for Beli’s shower. It was beautiful, even the ad/pr lady was so impressed with decorations they wanted to take pictures to send to their ad people for their brochures, etc. The food was delicious, the cake, from Haydel’s, was awesome. Everyone had a great time too, got to see & visit with relatives & friends we hadn’t seen in a long time, which is always good for the soul I gotta tell ya. Considering the recent family stuff goings on, it was nice to get that.

Saturday afternoon & night was kind of slow motion. Went & helped Brenda load/unload after the shower. Drove back to the hotel to play a game with the girls that Belicia created, it was really creative & cute. Then we all just sat around & caught up with Chris & her friends & Johnny & Jeannie came by to hang out too. By this time all the girls were getting lucky dogs fro dinner & heading out to one of NOLA’s infamous Ghost Tours of the Quarter. Then after that they hit Borubon again for some fun & more good times. We adults & a few kiddos ate at the restaurant next door, which was not good at all, yuck, Viola, don’t recommend it at all.

I passed on going out that night. But maybe I should’ve, that would’ve been less time spent in that musty, humid, damp room. The sheets felt wet sometimes, they weren’t, but they felt like it. I truly believe that contributed to the sicknesses I came down with that hit me once I got back home. I had a tickly throat which turned into probably strep, I know this cuz I’ve had three incidences of this in the past 3 years, the last 2 being within the last 3 months. Well the day I worshipped at the porcelain throne was the day I decided I had to make an appearance at the Scott & White Clinic. Got another round of anitbiotics & a steroid shot, sigh…I can win for losing here with the sickness. Today at the grocery store I picked up extra Vitamin C to supplement my regular vitamins. I gotta nip this in the bud before school starts so I’m not inclined to go the sickness rollar coaster again.

Speaking of school, that’ll be my next topic, be on the lookout 🙂

Leave a Reply

