Do You Know What It Means To Miss Maw Maw ‘Phine

Standard

Josephine Descant Barbry, May 26, 1920 – May 6, 2010

Do you know what it means to miss Maw Maw ‘Phine

I miss her both night and day

I know that it’s right…this feeling’s getting stronger

The longer she’s away

Miss them small talking times…those Cajun rhymes

Where the angels liked to play

And I’d like to see that tough ole creole lady…hurryin’ into spring

The moonlight on the backyard…a fiddlin’ tune that fills the air

I dream of azealas in bloom and soon I’m wishin’ that you were there

Do you know what it means to miss Maw Maw ‘Phine

And that’s where I left my heart

And there’s something more, I miss the one I care for

More than I miss New Orleans

One response »

Leave a Reply

