They Come & Go In 3s

Standard

So at the beginning of the week we lost Ed McMahon. Then all hell broke loose on Thursday. Yes, Farrah Fawcett & Michael Jackson both passed. This week will most definitely be one for the entertainment history books. I’m sure we’re all looking forward to those “In Memoriam” montages at the Grammys & the Oscars.

Whe the news broke of Michael Jackson’s death it eclipsed that of the other two losses in one fell swoop. The regular news media & social media was up in arms over the death of the King of Pop. I saw some get pretty ticked off that we were forgetting Ed & Farrah. Whilst I agree on some level that all three were significant losses, they were not all equal, with all due respect.

I venture to theorize that Ed McMahon & Farrah Fawcett were mainly American Icons. Yes, they had some international celebrity, but not on the level that Michael Jackson had. I don’t seem to recall any international media footage of people in tears & passing out when Ed & Farrah walked by.

The medium of music in an of itself is highly emotional & extremely personal. It’s the soundtrack of our lives as we so often hear. I had the great pleasure & opportunity to have two older brothers who embraced the early days of MTV as I was growing up. So I remember the night of Thriller’s premiere. I remember Black or White’s premiere too. You can imagine my shock & awe as I listened to a caller on a radio show who is only 2 years older than I am say he doesn’t remember Michael in his heyday. He obviously meant the Jackson 5 days, right?!

That same caller said two generations will remember Michael differently: one for his music & iconography, the other for the controversy & scandal. He said with himself being in the younger generation he’d remember the troubles Michael faced. Please excuse me while I pick my jaw up from the floor. This man apparently grew up under a rock & has no cultural compass.

Truth is Michael Jackson is a world icon and his influence is wide-reaching, international. So it should not be a shock that he is receiving the lion’s share of media this week, and let’s face it throughout the rest of the year, most likely.

Don’t get me wrong I grew up watching rerun episodes of Charlie’s Angels & seeing Farrah Fawcett in The Burning Bed, like an after school special only for adults. I grew up watching The Tonight Show & Star Search every Saturday afternoon. All three played a good part in my childhood television watching habits.

I’m not diminishing the loss of Ed & Farrah. I’m just adding my two cents as to why the aftermath is playing out like it is & why people shouldn’t be getting their panties in a twist because one is getting more attention than the others.

Whilst you wait for my return, check out my favortie MJ tune click on my twitter link on your right.

Leave a Reply

