2008 Has Been A Sucky Year So Far

Standard

I know I should be all happy, but after what’s happened this year I’m finding it very hard to be chipper.

First things first, I met a soldier back in the fall of 2006 and we began talking, let’s face it, we were dating. Talking to each other every night and going for coffee. He deployed to Iraq and we emailed throughout the year. He came back the end of December and it seemed like everything was going to be okay and there might have been the slight possibility for things to go further.

I went home for the holidays and when I came back something had changed and we all know men don’t necessarily talk about their feelings. Let’s just say I tried for 2 months and got nothing from him, no response whatsoever. I got the cold shoulder, the brush off, and wasn’t expecting it at all, based on everything that had transpired throughout the 14 months he was gone and the day he came back. Needlesstosay, I got my heart broken and it’s taking its sweet time mending.

On top of that, one of my friends is moving back home to California this week. Our other friend went home to have her baby with her husband and won’t be back until the end of May. On top of all that I’m turning 30 the end of this month. The soldier I mentioned above always made mention of him being home in time for his & my birthday, so of course I didn’t exactly plan on spending my 30th birthday alone.

In an effort to get things moving along a bit faster I decided on a few things. First thing, it’s an election year. I did some researching and now I’m working on getting elected a delegate to the Democratic National Convention in Denver this year, let’s all keep our fingers crossed. Second thing, I’ve always wanted to learn massage therapy. I did some digging around and found a school who holds night & weekend classes here in Killeen. So I start Monday, May 5th.

It’s Spring Break now, I’m taking my time and resting. I have a massage appointment tomorrow, whoo hoo! I’m scheduled to go to a concert later this week and really want to go to Austin for some cultural therapy. I’m just playing it by ear this week. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

