Geeks and Teen Crushes

Standard

Home/Work Life – Been spending the last week just going thru New Teacher Induction. Yes, some of it was a bit repetative, but that’s only because I have been with this school district for a year now, but that’s okay, everyone needs a refresher course. Between this past week and the other trainings I went thru these past couple weeks I met some awesome people. It’s going to be great to see them during other events and trainings throughout this upcoming year.

Scott Baio is 45 & Single – It took how long for me to see a Snuggle Party reference on television? Yes, people who have been with me since the beginning will remember that I did a post about Snuggle Parties. Scott Baio was encouraged by his life coach to attend one to experience intimacy on a level other than what he was used to.

The Two Coreys – Back in the day, that would be the years encompassing 5th grade all the way thru to even early 9th grade, my bedroom walls were plastered with scotch taped posters of mostly New Kids on the Block, some Kirk Cameron, and more importantly one if not both of the Coreys; that would be Corey Haim & Corey Feldman for anyone born after 1980. This show has confirmed my young crush on Feldman. Yes, tha man was a tad bit sensitive on the Surreal Life, but in this one, he’s the voice of reason and common sense. Haim on the other hand is still a 12 year old on the inside. He seems to have lost all grip on reality and his industry, which at times is very sad, but I am enjoying the nostalgia trip I’m on at the moment. Now I’m just going to break out The Goonies, The Lost Boys, Dream a Little Dream and License to Drive, oh wait I still need to order those last two on DVD, to Barnes and Noble I go.

The Pick Up Artist – when I first heard of this I thought it was the 80’s movie with Robert Downey, Jr. and Molly Ringwald. Boy was I wrong. Along with that misdirection, totally on my part in my head, I was getting all excited about the reruns VH1 was showing of Beauty and the Geek, an adorable show from the hands of that surprising brain of Ashton Kutcher. It then hit me that we were dealing with another geek to chic premise. The pick-up artist is a guy who goes by Mystery, aka Brian(?). He’s been featured in loads of artilces and books on how to pick up women. One I find it hard to believe that he had any trouble getting girls when he was younger, he was a cutie, but who knows anymore these days. He’s kind of like an inspirational speaker, in the vein of Tony Robbins possibly, instead of personal growth and overall well-being, he’s going the route of confidence in picking up women. It’s going to be interesting to see where this show goes. More to come, obviously.

*P.S. By the way, another season of Beauty and the Geek will begin very soon this Fall, date TBA.

Leave a Reply

