I’m Tired…..

Standard

of people who keep saying “they’re just animals.”

Even now over a month since Katrina hit the Gulf Coast there are still ongoing animal rescues in the area. It’s very upsetting when people I know and love can dismiss domestic animals in a disaster area, when they themselves own pets. Seriously, it’s enough to make me cry, and trust I have. During the recent hurricane hits, so many animals were left behind. It’s wonderful that when Rita was imminent that the officials allowed for people to take their pets when they evacuated, unfortunately it was at the cost of seeing the lost animals in Katrina.

It’s also upsetting seeing how some of these animals in news footage, well one in particular, that was pulled from a truck and dragged into the kennel area. These animals are scared, hungry, weak, distraught, and completely disoriented. Yes, go ahead, say I’m a wuss, a softie, I can’t let that affect me. I’d rather be affected by it, than go through life not caring at all about “lesser creatures,” who are “just animals” and being accused of being heartless.

I know I’ve said this in passing before and I’ll probably repeat myself more than once. Humans domesticated dogs, cats, among other regular and exotic species. Those pets have become part of our families. I’ve known men, intelligent, macho men cry at the loss of a family pet, close personal relatives in fact, you know who you are. No one can tell me or those men, “It’s just an animal.”

I saw the outpouring of love, devotion, compassion and dedication on Dogster, where my own baby, Zoe, has a webpage. Members there took it upon themselves to e-mail other members who were in the direct line of Katrina’s wrath after the storm hit making sure everyone was safe, including the pets we’ve all come to know and adore there. One woman I know of went to extremem lengths to find two family pets, offering to fly the pets when found to their owner who evacuated to another state. Lo and behold after three-four weeks the animals were both found alive, a little worse for the wear, but alive and as far as I know one pet has been reunited.

And god bless the man and his wife out in California who paid for many of the animals to be airlifted to a shelter on the west coast to house the animals until they are reunited with their families.

The tears shed at Lamar-Dixon in Gonzales during reunions are a testament of the fact that these are not merely “animals” or a sub-species, they are family. I would be devastated if I ever lost my baby, fiesty as she is. I would be devastated if any of the family pets were lost, killed, or passed over the Rainbow Bridge from natural causes.

For kids who came from a family where there were hardly any pets in the household, my siblings and I have acquired quite a few pets in the past 10+ years. I’ve come to love our entire fur-clan, even the ones that didn’t love me all that much.

To that end I dedicate this post to them: Sparky(MIA), Marci, Gidget, Whilamena Shakesears (RIP), Earssic Newton (RIP), Cocoa (RIP), The Aquarium Fish in Met. (RIP), Taco (RIP), Oreo (RIP), Lucy (RIP), Beethoven ?, Smokey (RIP), Abby, Peanut, Daisy, Oscar (RIP), Basil (RIP), Ginger (RIP), Smokey, Bandit, Casey (RIP), Fred ?, Joey ?, Sampson (Sammy), & Zoe.*

I want my family to know if I have the means should they need to evacuate anywhere I’ll galdy take them in or do everything in my power to make sure they are safe until it’s okay to go home.

I’m going to bed now as Zoe is wagging her tail to let me know she’s ready for bed. I’m going to relish in her unconditional love as she lets me scratch her back and licks my face goodnight.

May you all have the pleasure one day of knowing what it’s like to have a pet in your life.

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated” Mahatma Ghandi.

*Forgive me if I’ve forgotten any pets. My siblings for the most part moved away and I never met every single pet, my loss entirely.

Leave a Reply

