I Need A Break….

Standard

from all the harrowing news coming from the South.

Recently I’ve taken up watching Rockstar:INXS. Okay I know a lot of of INXS fans will cry foul, have cried foul on the “tacky” and “insensitive” exploitation of the death of the band’s former frontman Michael Hutchence in 1997. But from what I understand I don’t think this is a long term gig, just an avenue for a new INXS album. The band members, Garry Gary Beers, Kirk Pengilly, Jon Farriss, Andrew Farriss, and Tim Farriss seem truly committed to finding someone who can perform up to INXS standards, undoubtly one of the greatest rock bands of the 80’s, 90’s and arguably of all time.

The premise, wannabe rockers sing classic and modern rock tunes and compete each week in front of INXS and Dave Navarro. Sunday Night the Rockers are given their song assignments and go through clinics to help their perfomances each week. Tuesday is performance night, where the rockers can strut their stuff, some more so than others. Wednesday is elimination night where the bottom three vote getters perform an INXS song and then the band determines who stays and who goes.

I was fortunate enough to catch the first performance show in the American Idol type series. I must say I fell head over heels for Marty Casey, the toehead moptop from Chicago. His enthusiastic rendition of Franz Ferdinand’s “Take Me Out” was mind blowing. He had the audience in the palm of his hand. It was an incredible show. I was upset however when I learned just two nights before he performed another of my favorite songs “You Really Got Me” by The Kinks, man I wish I could have seen that. Even a thorough search through the Rockstar website cannot produce a clip from that night.

With an impending move I was a bit preoccupied in the following weeks of competition. I missed weeks 2-6. However I was able to get video on all but one week’s performance. Everyone raved about Marty’s rendition of Britney’s star making tune “…Baby One More Time,” while I must say quite intersting, I found his acoustic performance of The Killers “Mr. Brightside” spellbinding. Call me a sucker for the sweet, true his hard edged performances are mesmerizing, but the most gut-wrenching, emotional song of Marty’s repertoire was last night’s “Wish You Were Here,” from Pink Floyd. INXS Band member, Garry Beers, said it was one of his favorite songs of all time and Marty nailed it.

He nailed it enough to get Suzie to pick him out of the other five to have an encore as well! And tonight as the suspense built between Marty & Jordis as to which one would be in the bottom three. I want to let Brook Burke know that she had me going and it looked like Marty fell for it too. Seems like Marty got more votes than all three in the bottom put together. Must have been all those votes I made last night, hint, hint, wink, wink. And then sticking up for Suzie after JD confronted her, endeared him to me more. Sigh……..okay off to have sweet dreams, wink, wink.

‘Til next time.

Leave a Reply

