A Little Entertainment Nonsense

Standard

I did a few things this weekend that some of you may frown upon. Get your minds out of the gutter people!

During my Saturday shopping trip I meant to purchase only things to assist my move to Texas, you know boxes, tape, markers, bubble wrap, etc…. Well, while I was in Wal-Mart I saw something I just couldn’t pass up, The Mickey Mouse Club: The Best of Britney, Justin & Christina. Yes, I know it’s sad. See when I was younger my mom had sprung for cable in my room and then decided to take it away saying I didn’t watch the cable channels, but it was right before The New Mickey Mouse Club began airing. But those few precious times when we’d get The Disney Channel for free for a weekend I would devour the episodes.

It became even more of an obsession in my middle school years. Two of my friends and I went to the open call auditions in New Orleans one weekend, obviously none of us made it. Anyway, the MMC, as it was so termed in the hip 90’s, was this out of reach form of entertainment, until The Disney Channel became part of basic cable, but by then the MMC had been cancelled, sigh…….

Mainly I got the DVD so I could catch small glimpses of JC Chasez, Tony (can’t remember his last name) & Mark Worden (whatever happened to him?). It’s also funny to check out how young Ryan Gosling looks in those episodes too. Who knew he was going to grow up & romance Sandra Bullock and then the world in The Notebook? I was having flashbacks though while I watched the show. The music and the outfits. Those outfits, yes crazy sometimes, looked pretty comfy. Remember that was the beginning of the grunge age and the peasant blouses and jeans, the cute little dresses paired with doc martens. Ah, to be young again and thin enough to wear those clothes.

On Sunday I went to see Charlie & The Chocolate Factory. I love Tim Burton and his quirky goth style. Edward Scissorhands and Beetlejuice are two of my favorite movies, not to mention The Nightmare Before Christmas and James and the Giant Peach. “He’s only like the next Martin Scorseese.” Okay for those of you who didn’t get that, rent Singles. Johnny Depp, I mean gosh, loved him since that bed ate him in the first Nightmare on Elm Street, and wasn’t he just scrumptious in 21 Jump Street? Speaking of scrumptious, the new Willy Wonka in the new film, sigh…. I can appreciate his whimsical, childlike persona, but honestly, it freaked me out a bit. I know it was probably meant to freak people out a bit. Though I have to say his make up resembeled his make up in Edward Scissorhands.

Granted I never read the book as a child, only saw the Gene Wilder version and absolutely adored it. I must say it was hard to separate and not compare the two movies since the first is such a cultural icon. Okay Gene Wilder projected a strange albeit more normal Wonka, he was still a warm-hearted candymaker, who was able to relate to the children. I didn’t get that feeling with Depp’s portrayal. I got a creepy gut feeling. Though one can sympathize with why Wonka became such a successful candymaker from the flashbacks Burton adds into his version. Now the Oompa Loompas. Burton’s version has one actor, Deep Roy playing all the Oompa Loompas, digitally cloned, of course. The lyrics of their rhymes may have come directly from the Dahl himself, I still appreciate the melodic stylings of the Oompas in the older version. I also felt a little freaked out by the same guy playing all of the Loompas, with the exception of when Mike Teavee shrinks up in the Television Room and how Burton portrays them there.

In all it was an interesting film. One that is pure Tim Burton, which all his fans will enjoy, especially those who believe that when a book goes Hollywood, it should remain faithful to the original story. However, it is going to take me a few more viewings to appreciate Burton’s version, I will remain faithful to “Pure Imagination.”

Leave a Reply

