How I Spent My Easter Holiday by Darnée

Standard

Goodness, I feel like I’m back in 3rd Grade. Easter does that to me though, in fact all holidays do that to me, reverting back to my childhood years, sigh….. Anyway, as always God grants me the good fortune of having my birthday fall somewhere near Easter Break, Spring Break, etc. So in effect all my years in college, I hardly ever got to spend it with my friends, or I was working, etc. One year I was in Nashville alone, though I must admit that was pretty cool. And the year or two before that I was in Breckenridge, CO with a group of friends, which was very cool, as opposed to pretty cool.

This year for my birthday, I was in dire need of a mani/pedi, for those of you who aren’t versed in salon speak that’s a manicure/pedicure. So my sister being ever so generous treated at a local salon, of course she indulged in a little massage herself while my niece and I partook of the massage pedicure chairs. Ah, the life….. Then we went to go see Guess Who with Ashton Kutcher and Bernie Mac. Here I interject my review, eh hem….

Guess Who
Even though I haven’t seen Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner with Sydney Poitier, I still enjoyed the remake. I like Ashotn Kutcher when he’s playing normal instead of hornball teenager/twentysomething, but that’s just me. Here he is sweet, funny and quite the grown up and dare I say it, reminds me of a young Jim Carrey, Egads! Gasp! Yes, I know, go ahead and crucify me, it’s okay I understand. Now I haven’t seen too many of Mr. Kutcher’s films, just out sheer disinterest, kind of like most of Adam Sandler’s movies, but Guess Who was a genuinely sweet movie. Bernie Mac was his usual, crazy, neurotic dad self, pretty much his character on his tv show, but it was endearing here.

Saturday was quiet, Sunday was Easter. Monday I went to the French Quarter with my brother and his family. Right as we were heading out we wound up at one of those old tyme portrait studios. My two nieces, Belicia & Emily, and their boyfriends, Brad & Justin, and my sister in law’s niece, Cassandra all got dressed up and they took the cutest pictures. If I’m able I’ll post one of the pictures, keep your fingers crossed, but don’t hold your breath. When we got home it was nice just to hang out with everyone. I don’t get to see my brother and his family too often, or do I visit as often as I should. But I’ll see them again in May because Belicia is graduating this year, sniffle, sniffle; I feel so old. Nothing like a niece or a nephew to make a single girl feel old.

‘Til another time.

Leave a Reply

