What….

Standard

have I been up to lately you ask?

Well let’s see. Lots of things have been going on since Christmas.

The family is ecstatic right now. I had a brother in Iraq and he’s home now, YEAH!!!! For those who don’t know I have 1 sister & 4 brothers, 3 of whom were all in the service when they were younger so it was difficult for all of them to get home at the same time. We were going to try and have all of us get together for Easter, but unfortunately the holiday gods/goddesses were not smiling down upon us. Oh well, we’ll try again some other time.

I have also acquired a new little hobby in the past few months. As many of you know I review books for an online review site, anyone who’s interested in checking it out go here Coffee Time Romance. About a month after I started reviewing, they liked my writing so much that they asked me to come on as a Junior Editor. And before you ask, no I don’t get paid, well I do sort of, I get paid in the books I continue to review. I really enjoy it, made lots of new friends and we have a blast sharing stories, links and photos, BWEG!

Besides that I’ve been traveling a bit. I went to DC the beginning of February. The tribe sends a group of students to the American Indian Youth Summit sponsored by USET (United South & Eastern Tribes) & the Close-Up Foundation. It’s a really great program that brings all the great things from the basic Close Up program focusing on government at all it’s different levels, but then it brings in how Native/Tribal governments work with those governments. It’s great to see the kids interact with tribal members whom they have never met, sometimes it’s even relatives they’ve never met. Then to see them come together by the end of the week, kind of makes you feel all warm & fuzzy inside, sniffle, sniffle.

Unfortunately, that’s exactly what I was doing when I got back from DC, sniffling. I caught that nasty little flu bug and was out for the count for about a week. I didn’t have it as bad as my sister, who didn’t have it as bad as our mother, who after she got over the flu got shingles, poor thing. She’s bad off right now, I hope she gets better soon, hate to see mom not feeling well :~(

That’s all that’s been going on since I took a break at Christmas. Hope you all had a nice holiday.

P.S. Don’t forget to wear green on Thursday, that is of course unless you like getting pinched, hehe.

Leave a Reply

