My Views…..On The Phantom & A Few Other Movies

Standard


The Phantom of The Opera
At Christmas I went with my sister & niece to go see the film version of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s The Phantom of The Opera. I had been waiting to see it since I first saw the preview during the summer. I had seen the stage version once in high school, the ticket was a Christmas present from my sister. Niether one of us had seen it and boy were we not prepared. We didn’t bring any kleenex at all and we were boowhooing all over the place. Loved it! It was incredible that even though we were sitting in the balcony that that kind of emotion could carry us into bubbling fools at the end. Phantom came to New Orleans again Christmas of 2003. My brother John had gotten a bunch of tickets. So I got to see it again but this time a bit closer. I knew what I was in for this time and put some tissues in my purse. Thank goodness I did, I needed them. Had to hand out a few, but not too many.

The film opened in New Orleans earlier than it did in Alexandria, the closest town with a movie theater, so I knew when I went home for the holidays I was going to go see it. Finally, the day came, Brenda, Emily & I went to see it, my tissues within easy access. I was a goner before the first 20 minutes passed. The way the director, Joel Schumacher, staged everything, was opulent, grand, very Baroque, great for this movie. The actors were outstanding: Emmy Rossum as Christine, Patrick Wilson as Raoul and as The Phantom himself, Gerard Butler. Beautiful, Exquisite! Left me breathless. On stage the story was great, but on film being that up close and personal, I got things I missed before, and the subtle innuendos in the lyrics of the songs and dialogue, the symbolism was more apparent in the film. I highly recommend all you romantics at heart to go see it.

The Notebook
Brenda & I went to go see this with her daughter and two of our nieces last summer. I had read the book a few years ago and knew it was going to be a tearjerker. So I handed out the tissues this time before we even left the house. The story was inspired by the author’s in-laws. Kind of a stereotypical romance of star crossed lovers from different sides of the tracks, she’s well to do and he’s works at a lumber yard. Boy meets girl, boys & girl break up, girl meets another boy and gets engaged, I’ll stop there cuz if I go further I’ll give it away. Let me just say that by the time the movie was over we were all crying, some more than others. Yes, I was one of them, but does that really surprise anyone, at least those of you who know me so well?

Well it was so good, that I bought the DVD the day it was released and just waited until Brenda came to visit so we could revel in the gloriousness of the love story. We like to cry at the movies, intentionally. Okay, so I had seen it already, read the book, years back, and still I cried like my dog died, God forbid. But I was crying in anticipation of what I knew was going to happen, isn’t that sad. But oh it was a great story. The way Sparks can evoke tears through his words and the way Nick Cassavetes can do the same with celluloid. Oh goodness, I’m getting weepy just thinking about it.

The Wedding Date
Onto a happier subject. This was your fun, typical, romantic comedy. It had Debra Messing in it and I didn’t think I was going to like it, but I was sooooo wrong. It was too cute. The fact that Dermot Mulroney was in it, makes it even better. Loved him ever since Where The Day Takes You, when he starred as the leader of a streetwise group of kids without homes or family on SoCal. Anywho, moving a bit past his good guy roles in Point of No Return & My Best Friend’s Wedding, he takes on a slightly askew character and pulls it off, literally, hehe, to melt our hearts yet again. Can’t wait till that’s out on DVD, but not before Phantom, sigh……..

Leave a Reply

